chakras and nadis

Yoga Beginner’s Guide to The Three Nadis

Ever heard of Prana? It is the subtle life force present in your subtle body. This prana is what helps you enjoy good mental and physical health. But, how does this sacred energy travel throughout your body?

Your body has a network of 72,000 energy channels, also known as Nadis. These help transfer the vital life force to different parts of your body. Unfortunately, due to some impurities, these channels are not able to function properly. Activating these Nadis purifies them, carries the Prana, and activates the Kundalini energy.

Let us now understand more about the relation between these Nadis and your subtle body.

Nadis and Subtle Body

Beyond the physical body which you are aware of, there is the subtle and astral body.

The Nadis are the pathway for Prana in the subtle body. But, one can see the nerves that are part of the physical body. Nadis are pure energy or consciousness in motion during higher states of meditation.

There are different Nadis. You can identify these by light, color, and sound at a psychic level. A certified yoga retreat in Rishikesh will help you understand these Nadis in detail.

How Many Nadis Are There?

Your body has a vast network of Nadis. Different ancient texts have different numbers of Nadis depending on their calculation.

As per Shiva Samhitha, your body has 350,000 Nadis. Out of these 14 play an important role. These include:

  • Sushumna Nadi
  • Ida
  • Pingala
  • Gandhari
  • Kuhu
  • Pusha
  • Shakhini
  • Payaswini
  • Varuni
  • Vishwodari
  • Yashaswini
  • Hastijihva
  • Saraswati
  • Alambusha

The Prapanchasara Tantra states there are 30,000 Nadis in your body. Goraksha Samhita and Hatha Yoga Pradipika state the total number to be 72,000. From these, the 10 most important Nadis are:

  • Ida
  • Pingala
  • Sushumna
  • Gandhari
  • Pusha
  • Hastijihva
  • Yashaswini
  • Alambusha
  • Kuhu
  • Shakhini

An important thing to keep in mind is all these control the flow of the 5 Prana and Upa-Prana in your body.

Let us now check out the three main Nadis.

The 3 Main Nadis

One thing is clear from the above information. There are three main Nadis – Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna. Together, these three create the Trividha Nadi.

The Ida Nadi is present on the left side of Sushumna Nadi while the Pingala is on the right side. The two Nadis spiral around the Sushumna Nadi and resemble the double helix of human DNA.

Let us now understand all the three Nadis in detail.

Ida Nadi

Ida Nadi symbolizes the Moon (Chandra Tattva). It is also known as the Chandra Nadi. This is cool in nature and nourishes the body and mind. The Ida Nadi controls all the mental processes and energizes your emotions. This Nadi handles the feminine, auspicious and smooth functioning of your personality.

Yet, there are a few symptoms that occur as a result of the blockage of Ida Nadi.

  • Feeling restless at night
  • Epilepsy seizure, Dementia, and mental health problems
  • Improper digestion
  • Inability to correct bad habits

Pingala Nadi

The Pingala Nadi represents the Sun (Surya Tattva). In comparison to Ida Nadi, this Nadi is warm, active, and maintains your body temperature. Pingala Nadi helps with somatic processes, body growth, and catabolic activities.

Some of the symptoms of a blocked Pingala Nadi are:

  • Overeating
  • Craving for junk food
  • Becoming angry or aggressive easily
  • More Testosterone and Estrogen

Sushumna Nadi

The Sushumna Nadi is present in the center of the vertebral column. It acts as a spinal cord between the Ida and Pingala Nadi. This is one of the most gracious, spiritual, and hidden channels. It contains the qualities of Sun, Moon, and fire.

Ever heard of the Alternate Breathing method? Keep reading to understand this powerful breathing technique.

Alternate Breathing Technique

We all believe that breathing happens through both the nostrils, yet it is not so. A little attention reveals that one nostril opens during respiration. The other nostril remains close.

When your left nostril is active, the mental energy is active and Prana energy is weak. On the opposite end, when your right nostril is active, the Pranic energy is strong and mental energy is weak.

  • Inhaling and exhaling through the right nostril activates the Pingala Nadi.
  • On the other end, breathing through the left nostril activates the Ida Nadi.

Activating the Sushumna Nadi is possible only after you achieve equilibrium of these two Nadis.


Do you want to unlock your true physical and mental potential? Refer to this guide to understand the three Nadis. Join a certified yoga retreat in Rishikesh to learn the secrets to unlock these energy channels under the guidance of yoga experts.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alexa web rank